When we dead awaken

Her Kind
By Anne Sexton

I have gone out, a possessed witch,
haunting the black air, braver at night;
dreaming evil, I have done my hitch
over the plain houses, light by light:
lonely thing, twelve-fingered, out of mind.
A woman like that is not a woman, quite.
I have been her kind.

###############################

Midnight Halloween
All Souls Day
The veil is torn
The glass has broken
The thread of life unraveled
I wander in witch’s robes
To Lakewood
Monuments glow/whispers surround
I dare the ghosts to appear
Arise and walk with me
I move sideways through the fence
Through the cold
The dark, the rain
To the old heart of the City
Houses Mansions
Century old
Vacant Abandoned Abused Neglected
But still the faded elegance
surviving traces of what once was
remain

The veil has torn
The glass is broken
The spirits enter each
Light grows within the walls
All damage is healed
Each house restored
To former glory

Music surrounds
The ghosts dance
the rooms are re-inhabited
Arise and live again
Mae Squyer
Moonlight and Roses
Sumner McKnight and Caroline
the orchestra
Rooms full of flowers
and Beatrice Bessesen sings

I am the Resurrection and the Life
Who believes in me though he may die
Yet shall he live forever.

Leave a Reply

