Hey Old House Nutter!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Driving around the streets surrounding the East bank of the University of Minnesota…tired, cold, cranky and hungry, trying to find a parking space, somewhere, anywhere.

Cursing the 8%$# developers who’ve put up all these &^%$### ugly metal minimicropods for the young…

Thinking twice about returning an overdue library book…thinking of chucking the book on the train tracks…

No scary monolith parking ramp…not you…

SHIT!!!

And then I heard…the voice…the usual voice…HEY YOU!!! HEY YOU!!!
OLD HOUSE NUTTER!!! LOOK AT ME!! I AM HERE!! I AM STILL HERE!!!

I looked. Sigh. Shit. It’s stunning. Gorgeous absolutely….

House: HEY OLD HOUSE NUTTER…I KNOW YOU CAN SEE ME…STOP AND TAKE A LOOK…
I KNOW YOU WANT TO…

All those kids on their way to class, all those folks on their way to the hospital…they don’t see me…they don’t look at me…those that do…look once then look away and run away…They only want to do with life…loss and death are known to you…you will make a fuss about me…even though no one will listen…

Me: SHUT UP HOUSE!!!!

House: HELP ME!!!

I’M COLD DARK AND EMPTY
Any day now the tyrannosaurus with the steel teeth and the yellow skin and the devouring roar will come to tear me apart and haul whats left of me to the Old House burial grounds in Becker…

The car found a place. I got out…I looked…I thought about what this house once was… now empty, dark and doomed…and there they were all clustered round the windows looking sadly out at me…

I thought of the architect/builder that imagined…the hands that designed…the laborers that built…the professors? that moved in and planted flowers every Spring…they all whispered to me…

The mailbox held letters from…perhaps some entity coveting the land addressed to some owner who’d returned to Tzeflyajuana, he and the wife who own a dozen houses…all empty…with revoked rental licenses burdened with city citations, expecting directors orders, tax forfeiture or foreclosure…and definitely developer “acquisition.”

House: HELP ME!!!

Me: I can’t help you beautiful noble neglected abandoned old house.
The power you think I have is power I want but don’t have.

House: THEN..TAKE MY PICTURE…CAPTURE MY SOUL SO WHEN THE YELLOW DEATH MACHINES COME AN IMAGE OF ME WILL SURVIVE…AND YOU WILL TELL MY STORY!

And so I did. And so I will. Though I wish I could fight and defeat those who will destroy you, they will win.

Old houses and old buildings and eccentric forgotten folks
I am your humble servant. Use me as you will.

Leave a Reply

